Interracial Families

Why I Reclaimed My Relationship with the Outdoors as a Black Woman and Went Camping

I had always been curious about camping. Something about a tent, a fire, and marshmallows sounded like a lot of fun, but when I brought it up, no one in my family wanted to sleep on the ground outside when... Continue Reading

What Strangers Shouldn’t Say to My Interracial Family That Doesn’t “Match”

  By Alicia Barnes, liciabobesha.com When I was pregnant, I felt sorry for my husband. I knew our child was going to be brown, lighter than me but still brown like me. I knew he was going to have thick... Continue Reading

I’m Mistaken for the Nanny When Out with My Bi-Racial Son

By Nicole of XOJane.com I can still see it — feel it — as clear as yesterday. Four years ago, I had walked to the bodega on the corner of my Brooklyn block and stepped into a rude awakening. All... Continue Reading

Baby Love: DeAnna, George and Georgina

Introduce yourself! D: Hello everyone! I’m DeAnna, and I’m writing you from the beautiful state of Colorado. I have lived here for the past 23 years, but I originally hail from the great state of Texas. I am a stay-at... Continue Reading

Baby Love: Alicia and Petals

Introduce yourself. A: My name is Alicia and I live in Raleigh, NC. I’m a working mom – I teach in the classroom during the day, and I teach an online class in the evenings. I am married to one... Continue Reading

Baby Love: Aja, Lily-Grace and Theo

Introduce yourself. A: Hello! My name is Aja and I live in Brooklyn, NY. I am a stay at home wife and mother. Before that I was a model based in NYC for many years. I am a happily married... Continue Reading

Baby Love: Vanessa and Kennedy

Introduce yourself! V: Hi! I’m Vanessa and my husband and I just moved to Durham, North Carolina from Los Angeles, CA where I lived my entire life. I am now a SAHM after working for two years in higher education.... Continue Reading

Baby Love: Alicia and Ennis

Introduce yourself and your son. A: My name is Alicia, and I live in Starkville, Mississippi, a rural college town. I currently work full time outside of the home, but I’m hopeful in a few months to begin working part... Continue Reading

Get Baby & Blog Updates Direct to your Inbox! Sign Up Below:

 

HOT TOPICS